Buddhism Philosophy & Teachings

The Vinaya Piṭaka is made up of rules of discipline laid down for regulating the conduct of the Buddha's disciples who have been admitted as bhikkhus and bhikkhunnīs into the Order. These rules embody authoritative injunctions of the Buddha on modes of conduct and restraints on both physical and verbal actions. They deal with transgressions of discipline and admonitions in accordance with the nature of

Commentaries on the Tibetan Book of the Dead

Here you can read the commentaries of highly respected Buddhist Lama Chögyam Trungpa Rinpoche on the Tibetan Book of the Dead, otherwise known as Bardo Thödol. Tibetan Book of the Dead is not only for those who are going to die or who are already dead, it is also for those who are already born; birth and death apply to everybody constantly, at this very

Schools of Buddhism | Introduction

We will give next a general historical account of the chief branches of Buddhist thought in India such as Vaibhasikas, Sautrantikas, Yogacaras and Madhyamikas and briefly show their relation to the central teachings of the Buddha such as three fundamental principles of Impermanence (anitya), Sorrow (duhkha), and Non-self (anātman).

Doctrine of Non-Soul | Early Buddhism 3

Between two opposite viewpoints of eternalism (whether absolutistic or dualistic) and annihilation-ism lies the creed of the Buddha that though there is no unchanging self (ātman), still it is not a function of matter and is not completely denuded of all causal efficacy when particular bodily embodiment ceases to exist. Negation of the soul (anātma-vāda) amounts only to this, that its entitative persistence is denied.

Third Turning of Dharma Wheel

The Third Turning of the Dharma Wheel contain a number of various sutras, but the most significant among them is Tathāgatagarbha Sutra, which describes a primordial potentiality of awakening in each one of us, called Buddha Nature or Buddha-dhātu (element of Buddhahood). This sutra later has been the main source of inspiration for Nagarjuna’s Collection of Praises and for treatise of Maitreya “Upper Tantra” (Uttaratantra

Second Turning of Dharma Wheel

During his Second Turning of Dharma Wheel in Rajagriha at Vulture Peak Mountain, Buddha represented his teaching with wisdom sutras, a collection of sutras known as Prajnaparamita (Ultimate Wisdom). These sutras were mostly explaining the notion of Emptiness and transcendental states of consciousness associated with realization of emptiness. The second turning of Dharma wheel is usually seen as revealing deeper meaning of the notions which

37 aspects of the Path to Enlightenment

The general structure of Buddha’s teachings, as it was described at First Turn of Dharma Wheel, consists of 37 aspects of the path to enlightenment (sometimes called also thirty-seven steps to Enlightenment). These aspects are divided into seven categories. They are : Mindfulness, Supreme Efforts, Necessary conditions, Skills and Strengths, branches of Attainment and the Noble Eightfold Path to Enlightenment.

Best three ways to practice Buddhism

Accordingly to three ways of practice (ethics, concentration and wisdom), Buddhist texts are divided depending on their subject to discipline, Buddha’s dialogs and metaphysics. If practitioner is truly able to start mastering these three ways of practice and study those texts and convey the same to others, we can say he is really a follower of Buddha Teachings. The need to practice and study these

First Turn of Dharma Wheel

Buddha gave his first sermon in the Deer Park near Sarnath, trying to explain the fundamentals of his teaching.In course of this conversation, which later received the name of “First turn of the Wheel of Dharma”, Buddha expounded fundamentals of his teaching about Four Noble Truths. As many of you know, these Truths were: Truth of Suffering, Truth of Causality of Suffering, Truth of Cessation

Three Yanas - Hinayana, Mahayana, Vajrayana

Classical Buddhist literature mentions several systems of theory and practice called by a Sanskrit name “- yanas”, which means “Vehicles”. Yanas might be considered as “views” or teachings supported by certain types of people that “moves” them forward. There are many such vehicles for people and deities and Buddhist vehicles among them: 1. Vehicle of personal liberation (Hinayana) 2. Vehicle of universal salvation (Mahayana) 3.