Majjhima Nikāya | Index I - 2




13. Mahādukkhakkhandha Sutta: The Greater Discourse on the Mass of Suffering
14. Cūḷadukkhakkhandha Sutta: The Shorter Discourse on the Mass of Suffering
18. Madhupiṇḍika Sutta: The Honey Ball
19. Dvedāvitakka Sutta: Two Kinds of Thought
20. Vitakkasaṇṭhāna Sutta: The Removal of Distracting Thoughts

II. Sīhanāda Vagga

 1. Cūḷasīhanāda Sutta

In this discourse, given at Sāvatthi, the Buddha made the bold statement that the four Categories of Ariyas, namely, the Stream-winner, the Once-returner, the Non-returner and the Arahat exist only in his Teaching and not in any other.

 2. Mahāsīhanāda Sutta

In this discourse, given at Vesālī, the Venerable Sāriputta reported to the Buddha about the disparagement of the Buddha's virtues made by Sunakkhatta who had left the Teaching.

The Buddha said that Sunakkhatta was not intellectually equipped to have the faintest glimpse of the Buddha's virtues such as the Ten Strengths, the four kinds of supreme Self-Confidence, the Non-decline of Sabbaññuta Ñāṇa till the time of parinibbāna.

He then described the five destinations and the actions which lead to them as well as the wrong beliefs and practices of the naked ascetics to whose camp Sunakkhatta now belonged.

 3. Mahādukkhakkhandha Sutta

This discourse was given at Sāvatthi to refute the naked ascetics when they tried to make out that they followed the same path and taught the same dhamma as the Buddha.

The Buddha also explained to the bhikkhus what the pleasures of the senses were, what their faults and dangers were, and the way of escape from them.

The Buddha explained further that outside of his Teaching, these dhammas were not known and no one but the Buddha and his disciples could teach such dhammas.

 4. Cūḷadukkhakkhandha Sutta

This discourse, given by the Buddha, at Kapilavatthu to the Sakyan Prince Mahānāma to explain to him on his request, how greed, ill will and ignorance caused moral defilements and suffering.

 5. Anumāna Sutta

This discourse was given by the Venerable Maha Moggallāna to many bhikkhus at Susumāragira in the country of Bhagga.

They were urged to see if they had purged themselves of sixteen kinds of stubbornness such as inordinate desire, humiliating others while praising oneself, wrathfulness, etc.

If these sixteen kinds of unwholesome dhammas were detected in oneself, a determined effort should be made to get rid of them.

 6. Cetokhila Sutta

This discourse, given by the Buddha at Sāvatthi, mentions the five kinds of mental thorns:

doubt about the Buddha, doubt about the Dhamma, doubt about the Sangha, doubt about the efficacy of the practice in śīla, samādhi and paññā, ill will and animosity towards fellow bhikkhus.

It also mentions the five fetters:

attachment to sensual desires, attachment to oneself, attachment to material objects; immoderation in eating and sleeping, and adopting the holy life with the limited objective of attaining to blissful existences only.

These mental thorns and fetters are obstacles to liberation from dukkha. They should be removed and eradicated for realization of Nibbāna.

 7. Vanapattha Sutta

This discourse, given at Sāvatthi, is concerned with the choice of a suitable place for a bhikkhu. A bhikkhu has to depend on a forest glade or a village, or a town or an individual for his residence and support.

If he finds out any particular place is not satisfactory for his spiritual develop­ment or for material support, he should abandon that place at once.

If he finds it satisfactory with respect to material support, but not beneficial for spiritual development, he should abandon that place, too.

But when it proves beneficial for spiritual development, even if the material support is meagre, the bhikkhu should stay on in that place.

When conditions are satisfactory both for spiritual development and material support, he should live for the whole of his life in such a place.

8. Madhupiṇḍika Sutta

A Sakyan Prince, named Daṇḍapāni, once asked the Buddha at Kapilavatthu what doctrine he taught. The Buddha replied that his doctrine was one which could not be grasped by any brāhmin nor by the Mara:

It is this: not living in discord with any one in the world; not obsessed by sense impressions (saññā); not troubled by doubts; and not craving for any form of existence.

 9. Dvedāvitakka Sutta

This discourse was given by the Buddha at Sāvatthi to explain two kinds of thinking: wholesome and unwholesome. Bhikkhus should practice to see the advantages of engaging in wholesome thoughts and the dangers of unwholesome thoughts.

 10. Vitakkasaṇṭhāna Sutta

This discourse was given by the Buddha at Sāvatthi on how to combat the arising of unwholesome thoughts with wholesome thoughts.

For example, greed and sensuous thoughts should be banished by contemplating on unpleasantness and impermanency of the object of desire;

ill will and hatred must be countered by thoughts of loving-kindness; and ignorance may be overcome by seeking illumination and guidance from the teacher.