Majjhima Nikāya | Index II - 1


ṇṇāsa Pāḷi)


52. Aṭṭhakanāgara Sutta: The Man from Aṭṭhakanāgara
53. Sekha Sutta: The Disciple in Higher Training
54. Potaliya Sutta: To Potaliya
57. Kukkuravatika Sutta: The Dog-duty Ascetic
58. Abhayarājakumāra Sutta: To Prince Abhaya
59. Bahuvedanīya Sutta: The Many Kinds of Feeling
60. Apaṇṇaka Sutta: The Incontrovertible Teaching

(b) Majjhima Paṇṇāsa Pāḷi

I. Gahapati Vagga

1. Kandaraka Sutta

This discourse was delivered at Campā in connection with Kandaraka, the wandering ascetic, and Pessa, son of an elephant rider,

who marvelled at the silence maintained by the huge congregation of bhikkhus, not making any sound, not even a sneeze nor a cough.

The Buddha explained that their silence was due to their accomplishments in samādhi and to their training on four Methods of Steadfast Mindfulness.

The Buddha also elucidated the four types of individuals engaged in meditation.

2. Aṭṭhakanāgara Sutta

The householder Dasama of Aṭṭhaka wanted to know if there was a single dhamma which could cause liberation and realization of Nibbāna.

The Venerable Ānanda informed him there was a group of dhammas, eleven in number, namely, the four jhānas, the four Brahmavihāra practices, and Ākāsānañcāyatana, Viññāṇañcāyatana, Ākiñcaññāyatana.

Contemplating the impermanent nature of each of these dhammas would lead one to Nibbāna.

3. Sekha Sutta

This discourse was given by the Venerable Ānanda to the Sakyans headed by Prince Mahānāma.

The Venerable Ānanda explained the path consisting of three steps, śīla, samādhi and paññā to be followed by an aspirant to higher knowledge culminating in the knowledge of cessation of āsava.

4. Potaliya Sutta

Potaliya had left worldly affairs behind with a view to lead the holy life. When the Buddha saw him dressed in ordinary everyday attire, the Buddha addressed him as “Gahapati”, householder, which Potaliya resented.

The Buddha explained to him that in the vocabulary of the Vinaya one was said to have cut oneself off from the world only when one refrained from killing, stealing, telling lies, slandering, and only when one was abstemious, not conceited, and controlled in one's temper.

5. Jīvaka Sutta

This discourse was given at Rājagaha in connection with Jīvaka, the great physician, who enquired whether it was true that the Buddha ate the meat of animals killed purposely for him.

The Buddha told him that he had made it a rule for the bhikkhus not to partake of any meat which they saw or heard or had reason to suspect to be especially prepared for them.

Further, a bhikkhu should not show eagerness for food nor be greedy in eating; he should eat with reflection that he took the meal only to sustain the body in order to pursue the path of liberation.

6. Upāli Sutta

A prominent, wealthy lay disciple of Nigaṇṭha Nātaputta was sent by his master to meet the Buddha and defeat him in argument on certain aspects of the Theory of Kamma.

Whereas the Nigaṇṭha stressed on the physical and vocal actions being more productive of resultant effects, the Buddha maintained that it was volition or mental action that was paramount.

By means of his discourse the Buddha converted Upāli, and overwhelmed by intense wrath over the loss of his most prominent disciple, Nātaputta died.

7. Kukkuravatika Sutta

This discourse, given by the Buddha to two naked ascetics named Puṇṇa and Seniya at the market town of Koliya, deals with four kinds of actions and four kinds of resultant effects arising therefrom:

1. black deed leading to black result,
2. white deed leading to white result,
3. deed which is both black and white leading to result which is both black and white and
4. deed which is neither black nor white leading to result which is neither black nor white.

8. Abhayarājakumāra Sutta

Prince Abhayarājakumāra was sent by Nigaṇṭha Nātaputta to ask the Buddha whether he uttered unpleasant words about the destiny of Devadatta.

The Buddha enumerated six modes of utterances out of which he would make two modes of utterances:

words which are true, profitable but not pleasant to others and words which are true, profitable and pleasant to others.

9. Bahuvedanīya Sutta

This discourse was given at Sāvatthi to explain the various kinds of vedanā

which might be two in number: sukha and dukkha vedanā; or three in number by including the upekkhā vedanā; or five, six, eighteen or thirty-six, or one hundred and eight, depending on the method of enumeration.

Ordinarily sensations that arise from pleasures of the senses are regarded as sukha, or happiness. But the Buddha explains that the acme of happiness is attainment of nirodha samāpatti.

10. Apaṇṇaka Sutta

This discourse was given by the Buddha to the villagers of Sālā in the country of Kosala who had not yet accepted any of the teachings taught by leaders of the various sects visiting their village.

The Buddha showed them the right path which would not lead them astray:

The wrong views of the sectarians were contrasted against the right views propounded by the Buddha; the disadvantages of wrong views, and the advantages of right views were explained.