Majjhima Nikāya | Index III - 2



2. THE DIVISION OF ONE BY ONE (Anupada vagga)

111. Anupada Sutta: One by One As They Occurred
113. Sappurisa Sutta: The True Man
117. Mahācattārīsaka Sutta: The Great Forty
118. Ānāpānasati Sutta: Mindfulness of Breathing
119. Kāyagatāsati Sutta: Mindfulness of the Body

II. Anupada Vagga

1. Anupada Sutta

This discourse was given at Sāvatthi.

The Buddha brought out in full detail the virtues of one of his two Chief Disciples, the Venerable Sāriputta, extolling his wisdom which was extensive like the big earth,

describing how, unlike other ordinary disciples who had attained Arahatship, the Venerable Sāriputta went through the practices for development of śīla, samādhi and paññā in a very thorough manner,

step by step, contemplating very intensely on the minutest phenomenon of arising and perishing until he gained the highest goal of the holy life.

The Buddha explained also how the Venerable Sāriputta was fully accomplished in the Dhamma to deserve the honour of being a Chief Disciple of the Buddha.

2. Chabbisodhana Sutta

The Buddha said that when any bhikkhu claimed to the attainment of Arahatship, his claim should not be admitted or rejected outright.

His claim should be carefully scrutinized according to the guiding principles provided in this discourse.

3. Sappurisa Sutta

This describes how a good, worthy man is to be distinguished from a bad, unworthy person enumerating twenty-six characteristics by which each individual is to be judged.

4. Sevitabbāsevitabba Sutta

This discourse was given briefly by the Buddha, and the Venerable Sāriputta continued to expound it in more detail.

It deals with practices and actions which a bhikkhu should or should not resort to:

Whatever action or practice or object is conducive to ones spiritual progress and development should be resorted to and made use of; whatever is detrimental to ones spiritual advancement should be rejected.

5. Bahudhātuka Sutta

This discourse is an analytical study of elements, dhātu; bases, āyatana; the law of dependent origination; and the right or wrong causes.

Only the bhikkhu skilled in these studies may be reckoned as a wise person.

6. Isigili Sutta

This discourse was given by the Buddha at Isigili, one of the hills surrounding Rājagaha. This is an account of why this hill was called by that name and of the many Paccekabuddhas who used to dwell there.

7. Mahācattārīsaka Sutta

This discourse is a detailed exposition on Right Concentration which has its base in the other seven constituent parts of the Noble Path, on twenty meritorious dhammas and on twenty demeritorious dhammas.

8. Ānāpānassati Sutta

Ānāpānassati as a method of meditation was explained to a large gathering of bhikkhus including nearly all well-known senior disciples such as the Venerable Sāriputta, Mahā Moggallāna, Mahā Kassapa, Anuruddha, Ānanda etc.

Development of mindfulness of respiration establishes a person in the Four Methods of Steadfast Mindfulness.

The Four Methods of Steadfast Mindfulness, being developed, establishes a person in the Seven Factors of Enlightenment.

The Seven Factors of Enlightenment, being developed, bring about Insight Knowledge and emancipation.

9. Kāyagatāsati Sutta

This discourse describes the meditation practice involving contemplation on the thirty-two parts of the body. The practical steps in the method as well as its advantages are fully explained.

10. Saṅkhārupapatti Sutta

This discourse explains how it is possible to have ones wish fulfilled if one is well established in the five wholesome dhammas, namely, faith, moral conduct, learning, liberality and wisdom.