Samyutta Nikāya | Index


Samyutta Nikāya | Intro

This collection of discourses in the Suttanta Piṭaka known as Samyutta Nikāya has 7762 Suttas of varied length, generally short, arranged in a special order according to subject matter into 5 major divisions:

1)  Sagāthā Vagga, (Read Online)
2)  Nidāna Vagga, (Read Online)
3)  Khandha Vagga,
4)  Saḷāyatana Vagga and
5)  Mahā Vagga.

Each major vagga is divided into 56 groups known as Samyuttas — related subjects grouped together.

The Samyuttas are named after the subjects they deal with, for example, Bojjhaṅga Samyutta on the 7 Factors of Enlightenment, or after some principal personalities such as the Venerable Sāriputta, King Pasenadi of Kosala, or Sakka.

Kosala Samyutta is a group of discourses concerning King Pasenadi of Kosala, and Devatā Samyutta deals with devas like Sakka, Indra, Brahma, etc.

Each Samyutta is further divided into sections which are made up of individual Suttas.

Thus the well- known Dhammacakkapavattana Sutta is the first discourse (Sutta) in the second section of Sacca Samyutta which comes under the Mahāvagga division of Samyutta Nikāya.

(a) Sagāthā Vagga Samyutta Pāḷi

This major division of Sagāthā Vagga Samyutta Pāḷi contains 11 Samyuttas with discourses grouped according to characters appearing in them, the king of devas, the Devas, the Brahma, Māra, King of Kosala, Bhikkhus and Bhikkhunīs.

The name of the Vagga, Sagāthā (In Verses), is derived from the fact that various personalities appearing in the discourses conducted their dialogues or interviews with the Buddha mostly in verse.