Theravāda Sūtras

Dīgha Nikāya | Long Discourses of Buddha

Dīgha Nikāya or Long Discourses of Buddha - The direct words, Sutras or Suttas of the historical Buddha Shakyamuni, as they were heard and later included in so called Tripitaka or Pali Canon. The Long Sutras. Buddha Shakyamuni used to tell - there are three kinds of students - with great, medium and small capacities - and so are Buddhas sutras - Long Suttas, Medium

Majjhima Nikāya | Suttas

The Majjhima Nikāya is the second collection of the Buddha's discourses found in the Sutta Pitaka of the Pali Canon. Its title means literally the Middle Collection, or Collection of Middle-length Discourses and it is so called because the suttas it contains are generally of middle length. The Majjhima Nikāya consists of 152 suttas. These are divided into 3 parts called Sets of Fifty (paṇṇāsa),

The Dhammapada | with Commentary

The Dhammapada — The Path to Truth — is an excellent book to keep in one’s pocket and refer to at leisure. The Dhammapada' is a collection of the Buddha's words or basic and essential principles of the Buddha's Teaching. It consists of 423 verses arranged according to topics in twenty-six vaggas or chapters. The meaning of the verses is greatly clarified by the stories

Itivuttaka | Buddhas Discourses

Itivuttaka | Buddhas Discourses The Itivuttaka, a collection of 112 short discourses, takes its name from the statement at the beginning of each of its discourses: this (iti) was said (vuttaṁ) by the Blessed One. The collection as a whole is attributed to a laywoman named Khujjuttarā, who worked in the palace of King Udena of Kosambī as a servant to one of his queens,

Aṅguttara Nikāya | Index

The Aṅguttara Nikāya (literally "Increased by One Collection," also translated "Gradual Collection" or "Numerical Discourses") is a Buddhist scripture, the 4th of the 5 Nikāyas, or collections, in the Sutta Piṭaka, which is one of the "3 baskets" that comprise the Pāli Tipiṭaka of Theravada Buddhism. Aṅguttara Nikāya contains 9557 short Suttas is divided into 11 divisions known as Nipātas. Discourses are in progressive numerical

The Way to the Beyond | Pārāyanavagga

Pārāyana Vagga forms a part of the Sutta Nipāta, a sub-division of the Khuddaka Nikāya of Pāḷi Canon. It is among the earliest existing Buddhist literature. Pārāyana Vagga deals with 16 questions asked by 16 brāhmin youths while the Buddha is staying at Pāsānaka Shrine in the country of Māgadha. The Buddha gives his answers to each of the questions asked by the youths.

Advice to Rāhula | MN 62

The Long Discourse Giving Advice to Rāhula (Mahārāhulovādasuttaṁ, MN 62) An important discourse by the Buddha to his son Rāhula on the development of meditation on the elements as a precursor to mindfulness while breathing; from Majjhima Nikāya (MN:62) or Middle Length Discourses of Buddha. Whatever form there is, Rāhula, past, future, or present,“This is not mine, I am not this, this is not my

Samyutta Nikāya Suttas

This collection of discourses in the Suttanta Piṭaka known as Samyutta Nikāya has 7762 Suttas of varied length, generally short, arranged in a special order according to subject matter into 5 major divisions: Each Samyutta is further divided into sections which are made up of individual Suttas. Thus the well- known Dhamma-cakka-pavattana Sutta is the first discourse (Sutta) in the second section of Sacca Samyutta.

The Khuddakapāṭha (Pāḷi for "Short Readings"; abbreviated as "Khp") is a Theravada Buddhist scripture, the 1st collection of discourses (Suttas) in the Khuddaka Nikāya of the Pāḷi Canon. It may have originated as a handbook for novices composed from excerpts from the canon, and was accepted as canonical because it consisted of texts that were already part of the Canon. Contains excerpts of canonical texts.

This is folder-link for Sutta Nipāta (lit. Section of the Suttas) from Khuddaka Nikāya, Theravāda Pāḷi Canon of Buddha Sūtras. 1. Uraga Vagga (Chapter on the Serpent) of 12 suttas; 2. Cūḷa Vagga (Minor Chapter) of 14 suttas; 3. Mahā Vagga (Great Chapter) of 12 suttas; 4. Aṭṭhaka Vagga of 16 suttas and 5. Parāyaṇā Vagga (The Chapter of Octads) of 16 questions.